Same stuff, another day.

Same stuff, another day. We've successfully convinced ourselves, especially since the 80's, I guess, that black people are so dangerous it's ok to train police and other law enforcement to shoot first and then stand there. Maybe we could try something else from now on.

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/03/30/us/stephon-clark-independent-autopsy.html
https://www.nytimes.com/2018/03/30/us/stephon-clark-independent-autopsy.html

Comments

  1. The convincing was going on many decades before that.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I just saw this headline and my first thought was, "Who is Stephon Cl-- aw, hell, is that the poor guy got shot in back yard?"

    Yes, except it was his grandmother's back yard, not his own. This may be tragic by one definition but it was also stupid, avoidable, and probably just criminal if the autopsy varies so much from the police reports.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I mean, yes, but it seems like there's been more open training and official policy that makes it ok? Instead of pretending otherwise? But maybe bias from education and upbringing.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Shoot First and ask questions FUCKING NEVER, YOU HEAR ME RECRUIT?! is definitely something that’s been getting worse since... I guess the seventies? Dirty Harry is a role model now.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog