Today in stupid headlines:

Today in stupid headlines: 
Study suggests brain scans may help identify CTE

CTE= chronic traumatic encephalopathy, which is the term that's been coined specifically for the form of traumatic bran injury suffered while playing sports.

The information being conveyed is, in fact, not stupid at all. Some researchers have looked at a specific type of imaging (PET scans), with a specific protocol, to try to identify early on whether this is what's happening to someone. If so, then ideally in the future we will have a form of treatment or intervention that may slow or minimize the long term effects and possibly keep them functioning and alive longer.

What's stupid is that, duh, brain scans identify brain injuries. Shock, surprise. That is a meaningless and pointless article that should be skipped. Otoh, PET scan may identify early [brain changes in] CTE is useful, informative, and potentially important. Aiming even more at the public, you could try PET scan may identify sports brain injury. Sure, nobody knows what a PET scan is, but they can probably guess what a sports brain injury is. Notwithstanding that some people might suggest it is being a Cardinals fan.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog