My family's impossible.

My family's impossible.

A recalls speaking to C last night and C saying they'd call in the morning when they were ready to come visit
B tells A at 12:25pm that A was supposed to call C at 11am (50/50 shot on whether this had anything to do with B talking to C, or B just wanting this to happen independently)
C hasn't called anyone
B seemingly calls C at 12:30pm and is told C will call back around 2pm
C (and crew) shows up at 1:30pm
B I thought you were going to call?
C I said we'd be over in half an hour (in a conversation that took place an hour prior, which means even if that were true, they should have been here at 1:00pm)

Reality is that no one wants my brother and his family here right now. My father needs to rest, which he was until my brother just showed up with his family, and my mother needs some time to change from the funeral she went to and reset to getting some things done without the pressure of other people needing to be entertained. In fact, my brother and his family could probably do with some rest, as well. My brother thinks he's a great guy, and isn't it wonderful that they're here, and has no idea that he, my mother, and my father all have completely different ideas about what the heck is going on.

So now we're into the happy family song and dance. WE MUST ALL SPEND ALL THE TIME TOGETHER AND LOVE IT. Which is going to continue until probably 8pm or so.  And it is a small house, so if I go anywhere out of my room, I have to interact with people, and the sound proofing in this house sucks, so there is nowhere I can go that is devoid of the sound of their presence. 

Shoot me.

Comments

  1. My problem is that I need boundaries. Like knowing when people will and won't be around. Like being able to choose when to interact and when not to. Like planning ahead, and remembering conversations. I am very bad at the random, unpredictable, everybody all at once with no warning thing.

    ReplyDelete
  2. ...which is a trait entirely inexplicable to people who do not share it.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Most people are really bad at modeling mindsets more than a little foreign to them. Extroverts haven't had to practice as much because they're so damned dominant they only need to be a little bit thoughtless to end up assuming we're unfriendly and antisocial at best; sociopathic and mentally ill at worst.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Actually, what I usually get called is either snobby or bitchy.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog